JamieNaija Blog

Nigerian Breaking News | Nigerian Entertainment News | Naija Celebrity News

Friday, 30 June 2017

Osinbajo Appoints 14 New Resident Electoral Commissioners

Acting President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo has approved the appointment of 14 new Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

This is contained in a statement by the Director of Press, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), Bolaji Adebiyi.

While 13 of the new appointees were on their first term, Hussaini Halilu Pai of the FCT was re-appointed.

The new appointees are
Professor Godwill Obioma (Abia),
James Lorliam Apam (Benue),
Dr. Nwachukwu Orji (Ebonyi),
Dr. Iloh Joseph Valentine Chuks (Enugu), Dr. Nentawe Goshwe Yilwatda (Plateau), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba) and
Mr. Emeka Ononamadu Joseph (Imo).
Others are Obo O. Effanga (Cross River),
Professor Francis Chuckwemeka Ezeounu (Anambra),
Dr. Briyai O. Frankland (Bayelsa),
Ibrahim Abdullahi (Adamawa),
Agboke Mutiu Olaleke (Ogun)
and Alhaji Ahmad Makama (Bauchi).

“These appointees have been confirmed by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and therefore the appointments are with immediate effect,” Adebiyi said.

The RECs also have a five-year renewable tenure, same as the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

No comments: